Conference of European Churches Conference in Finland

Conference of European Churches Conference in Finland

From 24 to 26 September 2019, the first meeting of the Ecumenical Officers and Secretaries of Theology took place in Kaunisniemen Leirikeskus, Finland, about an hour’s drive from Helsinki, within the framework of the Conference of European Churches (CEC). Over the two days there were opportunities to learn the latest news from member churches of the CEC and to shape its ongoing ecumenical program.

Diverse Visits at the Institute

Diverse Visits at the Institute

Visit of the Pastoral Convention of Neukölln

On September 12, 2019, the Institute for Ecumenical Research welcomed the Neukölln Deanery to its rooms in Strasbourg. The guests were introduced to the work of the Institute, focusing on the three facets of research, dialogue, and education. In addition, current ecumenical challenges were highlighted. The current study project of the Institute, which attempts to address constructively the question of unity in a Christianity that is becoming ever more pluralistic, was also a topic.

The Harding Meyer Prize in Ecumenism

The Harding Meyer Prize in Ecumenism

On December 1, 2018, Harding Meyer died. He was one of the most important personalities in the recent history of the worldwide ecumenical movement. As a guiding intellectual force and pioneer, he opened up and broke new ground. Many recent developments in worldwide interchurch relations go back to him.

54th International Ecumenical Seminar 2020

54th International Ecumenical Seminar 2020

Ecumenical and Interreligious Dialogue:
Similarities and Differences

Modern societies are pluralistic—not only in a religious sense, but in this sense as well. The three great monotheistic religions of Judaism, Christianity and Islam in particular often occur within the same countries and live together. In addition, there are differences between groups within the respective religions. Classical ecumenism in the Christian domain is concerned with denominational divisions and seeks to overcome them. But Judaism, Islam, and even Buddhism know internal divisions and conflicts that separate believers from each other. In particular, the internal Islamic conflict between Sunnis and Shiites has been, like in Christianity’s separation between Protestants and Catholics, often bloody.

Charismatic and Lutheran Intersections in Sweden

Charismatic and Lutheran Intersections in Sweden

Prof. Sarah Hinlicky Wilson, a Visiting Professor of the Strasbourg Institute based in Tokyo, spent a week during October 2019 as a guest of the Evangeliska Fosterlands-Stiftelsen (Swedish Evangelical Mission, SEM), a renewal group within the Church of Sweden. The SEM traces its roots back to the Pietist revivals under the guidance of Carl Olof Rosenius and today embodies the intersection between Lutheran theology, Pietist practice, and Charismatic spirituality.

Konsultation in Klingenthal vom 17.-20. September 2019

Konsultation in Klingenthal vom 17.-20. September 2019

Die Johann Wolfgang von Goethe-Stiftung hat dem Institut auch in diesem Jahr das Schloss Klingenthal für eine wissenschaftliche Konsultation zur Verfügung gestellt. Das malerische Schloss bietet bereits durch seine abgeschiedene Lage einen vortrefflichen Tagungsort. Frau Prof. Dr. Marie-Paule Stintzi sorgte zudem als Gastgeberin dafür, dass sich die Teilnehmer der Konsultation sehr willkommen fühlten. Wir sind dafür sehr dankbar!

KEK-Konferenz in Finnland

KEK-Konferenz in Finnland

Vom 24. bis 26. September 2019 fand im Rahmen der Konferenz der Europäischen Kirchen (KEK) das erste Treffen der Ecumenical Officers and Secretaries for Theology in Kaunisniemen Leirikeskus (Finnland) statt. Etwa eine Fahrstunde von Helsinki entfernt bestand zwei Tage lang die Möglichkeit Aktuelles aus den Mitgliedskirchen der KEK zu erfahren und das weitere ökumenische Programm der KEK zu gestalten.

Verschiedene Besuche im Institut

Verschiedene Besuche im Institut

Besuch des Pfarrkonvents Neukölln 

Am 12. September 2019 durfte das Institut für Ökumenische Forschung das Dekanat Neukölln in den Räumen des Instituts begrüßen. Die Gäste wurden in die Arbeit des Instituts eingeführt, wobei die drei Facetten von Forschung, Dialogen und Rezeption der Dialogergebnisse im Zentrum standen. Darüber hinaus wurden aktuelle ökumenische Herausforderungen beleuchtet. Auch das Studienprojekt des Instituts, das versucht die Frage nach Einheit in einer sich immer stärker pluralisierenden christlichen Landschaft konstruktiv anzugehen, war Thema.

Harding-Meyer-Ökumenepreis

Harding-Meyer-Ökumenepreis

Am 1. Dezember 2018 verstarb Harding Meyer. Er war eine der bedeutendsten Persönlichkeiten der weltweiten neueren ökumenischen Bewegung. Als Vordenker und Pionier hat er neue Wege eröffnet und beschritten. Viele neuere Entwicklungen weltweiter zwischenkirchlicher Beziehungen gehen auf ihn zurück.

54. Internationales Ökumenisches Seminar 2020

54. Internationales Ökumenisches Seminar 2020

Ökumenischer und interreligiöser Dialog.
Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede

Moderne Gesellschaften sind plural – nicht nur, aber auch in religiöser Hinsicht. Gerade die drei großen monotheistischen Religionen Judentum, Christentum und Islam kommen häufig in gleichen Ländern vor und leben zusammen. Darüber hinaus finden sich innerhalb der Religionen Unterschiede zwischen Gruppierungen. Die klassische Ökumene im christlichen Bereich befasst sich mit den konfessionellen Spaltungen und versucht sie zu überwinden. Doch auch Judentum, Islam oder sogar Buddhismus kennen interne Spaltungen und Konflikte, die Gläubige voneinander trennen. Besonders der innerislamische Konflikt zwischen Sunniten und Schiiten wurde wie im Christentum die Trennung zwischen Protestanten und Katholiken oftmals blutig ausgetragen.